Cover image for Fangbone!, third-grade barbarian. 1
Title:
Fangbone!, third-grade barbarian. 1

Third grade barbarian

3rd grade barbarian

Fangbone!, third-grade barbarian ;

Fangbone!, third-grade barbarian.
Title:
Fangbone!, third-grade barbarian. 1
Personal Author:
Publisher Info:
New York, NY : G. P. Putnam's Sons, a division of Penguin Young Readers Group, [2012]
Physical Description:
120 pages : color illustrations ; 19 cm.
Series:
Fangbone!, third-grade barbarian ; 1

Fangbone!, third-grade barbarian.
General Note:
Chiefly illustrations.
Abstract:
Eastwood Elementary's new student is nothing like the other kids in 3G. Fangbone is a barbarian warrior from another world! And he's been charged with the task of keeping a deadly weapon from Skullbania's vilest villain, Venomous Drool. Can Fangbone's new classmates team up to help him triumph over hound-snakes, lava-ferrets, and his first pop quiz?

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Searching...
JUV 741.597 REX New or Popluar Book Juv Nonfiction
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

As seen on Disney XD, a hilarious graphic novel perfect for fans of Captain Underpants!
Eastwood Elementary has a new student, and he's nothing like the other kids in 3G. Fangbone is a barbarian warrior from another world! And he's been charged with the task of keeping a deadly weapon from Skullbania's vilest villain, Venomous Drool. Can Fangbone's new classmates team up to help him triumph over hound-snakes, lava-ferrets, and his first pop quiz?


Author Notes

Michael Rex is the creator of over thirty books for children, including the number one bestseller Goodnight Goon and the Fangbone! series. He was inspired to create the Icky Ricky series by his two boys.

Visit him at www.michaelrex.blogspot.com.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

School Library Journal Review

Gr 2-4-Residing in roughly the same territory as Dav Pilkey's recent gross-out graphic novel, The Adventures of Ook and Gluk (Scholastic, 2010), Fangbone! is the goofy first installment in a series that will likely be a hit with reluctant readers. In Fangbone's homeland of Skullbania, supporters of evil Venomous Drool are poised to take over. All they have to do is piece together all the body parts of their ruler. To keep this from happening, the young barbarian is sent to our dimension with Drool's big toe-the final piece of the puzzle. Along the way, Fangbone enters third grade, learns about our world, builds an army, and fights off a variety of monsters sent from Skullbania to retrieve the toe. The humor is nonstop-sometimes sly, other times, just corny. The panel layout and basic cartoon illustrations are simple and clear. The orange and brown color scheme is a bold choice that isn't traditionally appealing, but suits the book well and certainly sets it apart. An entertaining mix that will find many eager boy readers, Fangbone! should receive a warm welcome in any collection.-Travis Jonker, Dorr Elementary School, MI (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

Flat, primitive art in yellow and gray brings to mind "what if the Wimpy Kid was instead Conan's kid?" The book's not attractive, but it is easy to read and very expressive. It looks like something a classmate might have scribbled on notebook paper and passed around, providing a sense of "I could do this!" The familiar plot sends the young Fangbone, normally picked on by the bigger warriors, on a mystical quest that, if successful, will reward the clan with victory against the enemy army. The young fighter is surprised to find that his mission involves blending in at an elementary school, which leads to much culture-clash humor. It's cute, funny, and will win over most readers with its commitment to its premise. It's even heartwarming, as Bill (Fangbone's friend, previously thought to be a loser) learns confidence, and Fangbone gains an appreciation for teamwork during a dodgeball-like game. The modern touches-such as hot wings and Bill's ADD medicine-ground the book, while jabs at school philosophy through the character of the goofy principal will entertain adult readers. Ages 7-9. (Jan.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Booklist Review

With all the stir that your average boy wizard kicks up when he hits the classrooms, it's about time a school-age barbarian came along. And this one comes along like gangbusters, transported to our world as the guardian of an evil overlord's big toe. The pint-size Conan befriends Bill, one of the losers from room 3G; encounters the sorcery of flushing toilets; convinces classmates that the sun is actually a flaming eyeball; battles monstrous invaders; and, naturally, helps his new friend go head-to-head with the school bully on the dodgeball field. Rex (Goodnight Goon, 2008) finds rollicking opportunities in this scenario, plumbing both third-grade humor (including the mother of all nose-picking jokes) and insecurities to fine narrative effect. This first in a new series makes a bizarrely appropriate companion piece for the ever-popular Babymouse series, with its lightning pace and absurd but heartfelt story. The blocky figures and zany action are fit also like Babymouse into a mainly monochromatic palette: in this case, a savagely barbaric . . . orange?--Karp, Jesse Copyright 2010 Booklist