Cover image for The Christmas wish
Title:
The Christmas wish
Title:
The Christmas wish
Personal Author:
Publisher Info:
New York : Random House, c2013.
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 31 cm.
Abstract:
Young Anja, whose greatest dream is to be one of Santa's elves, makes friends with the animals that guide her on the journey from her home in the far North to meet Santa.
Added Author:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Searching...
E EVER New or Popular Picture Book
Searching...
Searching...
E EVER New or Popular Picture Book
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

"In the tradition of The Snowman, The Polar Express, and the many books of Jan Brett this cozy Nordic tale filled with extraordinary photographs will have readers of all ages believing in the magic of Christmas. This is one to pull out every year and savor. Long ago, a brave little girl named Anja wanted to be one of Santa's elves. So she leaves a note for her family and helps her elderly neighbor prepare for the holiday, then she straps on her skis, and heads out into the snowy landscape. From a red bird to a polar bear to a reindeer, a menagerie of winter animals help Anja make her way to Santa. A generous trim-size, matte cover, and foiled title make this a special book for the holiday season."


Author Notes

"LORI EVERT, a book and nature lover, has written a classic, magical story that will be loved by generations. PER BREIEHAGEN grew up in a small town in the mountains of southern Norway. His love for the outdoors and location photography has led to assignments around the world."


Reviews 2

School Library Journal Review

PreS-Gr 1-Anja longs to be one of Santa's elves. Dressed in full Nordic regalia complete with red gnomic hat, she certainly looks the part. A thoughtful and helpful child, she acts the part as well. When she skis off in her quest to find Santa, a bird, horse, musk ox, polar bear, and reindeer show her the way. The full-page photographs look like they could be movie stills, so sharp and seamless are the figures that Anja and the animals cut against the winter landscape of Northern lights, glaciers, and snowy pine trees. While the scenes of Anja offering an apple to the reindeer or curled up next to the sleeping polar bear are whimsical and look unaltered, other images are obviously manipulated. Further, the story reads as if it were written around the pictures, rather than the other way around. Nonetheless, the striking winter visuals and the adorable heroine carry the day.-Joanna Fabicon, Los Angeles Public Library (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

Evert and Breiehagen's first children's book is a family affair, with the story built around photographs of their daughter, Anja. Set "in a place so far north that the mothers never pack away the wool hats or mittens," the tale follows Anja as she ventures through ice and snow on skis and aided by several animals to find Santa Claus before Christmas. Dressed in a plaid jumper, Fair Isle sweater, and an elfin red cap, rosy-cheeked Anja looks like she's stepped out of a fairy tale, and Breiehagen's delicious (and, necessarily, digitally altered) photographs of her riding on the back of a polar bear and meeting Santa amid the snowy pines of the North Pole create the sense that magic is very real. Ages 3-7. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.