Cover image for Sting
Title:
Sting
Title:
Sting
Edition:
Large print edition.
Publisher Info:
New York, NY : Grand Central Publishing, a division of Hachette Book Group, 2016.
Physical Description:
408 pages ; 24 cm
Abstract:
When Jordie Bennet and Shaw Kinnard lock eyes across a disreputable backwater bar, something definitely sparks. Shaw gives off a dangerous vibe that makes men wary and inspires women to sit up and take notice. None feel that undercurrent more strongly than savvy businesswoman Jordie, who doesn't belong in a seedy dive on the banks of a bayou. But here she is . . . and Shaw Kinnard is here to kill her. As Shaw and his partner take aim, Jordie is certain her time has come. But Shaw has other plans and abducts Jordie, hoping to get his hands on the $30 million her brother has stolen and, presumably, hidden. However, Shaw is not the only one looking for the fortune. Her brother's ruthless boss and the FBI are after it as well. Now on the run from the feds and a notorious criminal, Jordie and Shaw must rely on their wits-and each other-to stay alive.

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Searching...
LP BROW Book Adult LP Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
LP BROWN Book Adult LP Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
LP BROW Book Adult LP Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
LP BROW Book Adult LP Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
LP BROW Book Adult LP Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
LP BROW Book Adult LP Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
LP BROW Book Adult LP Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
LP F BROWN Book Adult LP Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
LP BROW Book Adult LP Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
LP BROW Book Adult LP Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
LP BROWN, S. Book Adult LP Fiction
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

#1 New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Sandra Brown jolts the reader from the first page of this heart-pounding story of corruption, treachery, and ceaseless deception . . . where nothing is what it seems and every truth brought to light exposes a darker lie.

When Jordie Bennet and Shaw Kinnard lock eyes across a disreputable backwater bar, something definitely sparks. Shaw gives off a dangerous vibe that makes men wary and inspires women to sit up and take notice. None feel that undercurrent more strongly than savvy businesswoman Jordie, who doesn't belong in a seedy dive on the banks of a bayou. But here she is . . . and Shaw Kinnard is here to kill her.

As Shaw and his partner take aim, Jordie is certain her time has come. But Shaw has other plans and abducts Jordie, hoping to get his hands on the $30 million her brother has stolen and, presumably, hidden. However, Shaw is not the only one looking for the fortune. Her brother's ruthless boss and the FBI are after it as well. Now on the run from the feds and a notorious criminal, Jordie and Shaw must rely on their wits-and each other-to stay alive.

Miles away from civilization and surrounded by swampland, the two play each other against their common enemies. Jordie's only chance of survival is to outwit Shaw, but it soon becomes clear to Shaw that Jordie isn't entirely trustworthy, either. Was she in on her brother's scam, or is she an innocent pawn in a deadly vendetta? And just how valuable is her life to Shaw, her remorseless and manipulative captor? Burning for answers-and for each other-this unlikely pair ultimately make a desperate move that could be their last.

With nonstop plot twists and the tantalizing sexual tension that has made Sandra Brown one of the world's best-loved authors, STING will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the final pages.


Author Notes

Sandra Brown began her writing career in 1980. After selling her first book, she wrote a succession of romance novels under several pseudonyms, most of which remain in print. She has become one of the country's most popular novelists, earning the notice of Hollywood and of the critics. More than 60 of her books have appeared on the New York Times bestseller list. There are eighty million copies of her books in print, and her work has been translated into thirty-four languages. Prior to writing, she worked in commercial television as an on-air personality for PM Magazine and local news in Dallas. The parents of two, she and her husband now divide their time between homes in Texas and South Carolina.

(Publisher Provided) Sandra Lynn Brown (born 12 March 1948 in Waco, Texas) is an American bestselling author of romantic novels and thriller suspense novels. Brown has also published works under the pen names of Rachel Ryan, Laura Jordan, and Erin St. Claire. Brown began her writing career in 1980. After selling her first book, Love's Encore, she wrote a succession of romance novels under several pseudonyms, most of which remain in print. Prior to writing, she worked in commercial television as an on-air personality for PM Magazine and local news in Dallas.

Brown has written over 70 books including Mirror Image; French Silk; The Switch; The Crush; Hello, Darkness; Chill Factor; Play Dirty; Smoke Screen; and Smash Cut. She has received numerous awards including the Distinguished Circle of Success from the American Business Women's Association in 1992, the Lifetime Achievement Award from the romance Writers of America in 1998, and the Texas Medal of Arts Award for Literature in 2007. Sandra Brown frequently appears on the bestseller lists. Recently she's appeared on the New York Times Bestseller List with Deadline, Chill Factor and Mean Streak (2014), Friction (2015) and Tough Customer (2016).

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

This exceptional romantic thriller from bestseller Brown (Friction) pairs Shaw Kinnard, a handsome hired killer, and his beautiful target, Jordie Bennett, the owner of a New Orleans event-planning business, in a spirited contest of wills and wiles. Rather than kill Jordie, Shaw kidnaps her from a bar in the boondocks of Louisiana, hoping for a bigger slice of money. Jordie's crooked brother, Josh Bennett, helped his boss, Billy Panella, defraud investors of some $30 million, and Jordie may be the key for Shaw to get a share of the loot. No one knows the whereabouts of Billy-or Josh since he escaped from federal protective custody. Brown doesn't neglect other key figures, such as the two FBI agents searching for Billy and Josh, but the principal focus never strays far from the sexual tension between Shaw and Jordie: her aim to stay alive and his to squeeze from her the information he needs. Brown handles the romance with her usual panache and adds some nifty plot twists that will keep readers guessing. Agent: Maria Carvainis, Maria Carvainis Agency. (Aug.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Booklist Review

Shaw Kinnard is hired to help assassinate Jordie Bennet, the sister of the accountant involved in an infamous financial scam. Her brother, Josh, made a deal with the FBI in exchange for details about the man he worked with. But Josh escapes the FBI, and his old boss now wants Jordie dead, then Josh. And everyone wants the $30 million that never reappeared after the con. Shaw takes out the first hit man and kidnaps Jordie. He keeps her for 36 hours, until she wounds him and then gets help. During her captivity, she is interrogated about everything she knows about Josh's whereabouts. She and Shaw also start falling for each other. When she is under FBI protection, she learns that Shaw is not who he said he was, and they have to work together to try and save themselves and Josh. Prolific, best-selling Brown crafts facets and depths of characters in a taut novel full of surprises. Fans of Linda Howard and Julie Garwood may also enjoy this.--Alessio, Amy Copyright 2016 Booklist