Cover image for Two Naomis
Title:
Two Naomis

2 Naomis
Title:
Two Naomis
Publisher Info:
New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2016]
Physical Description:
204 pages ; 22 cm
General Note:
Pagination may vary.
Abstract:
"Other than their first names, Naomi Marie and Naomi Edith are sure they have nothing in common, and they wouldn't mind keeping it that way. Naomi Marie starts clubs at the library and adores being a big sister. Naomi Edith loves quiet Saturdays and hanging with her best friend in her backyard. And while Naomi Marie's father lives a few blocks away, Naomi Edith wonders how she's supposed to get through each day a whole country apart from her mother. When Naomi Marie's mom and Naomi Edith's dad get serious about dating, each girl tries to cling to the life she knows and loves. Then their parents push them into attending a class together, where they might just have to find a way to work with each other--and maybe even join forces to find new ways to define family"-- front cover flap.
Added Author:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Searching...
J RHUD (BOB) Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUD (BOB) Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
JF RHUD Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
JF RHUD Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
J F RHUD Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
J F RHUD New or Popular Book
Searching...
Searching...
J RHU Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUD Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUD Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUD Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUD New or Popular Book
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUD Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUD New or Popular Book
Searching...
Searching...
J FFIC RHUD Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUD Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
JF RHUD Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
JF RHUD Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
JF RHUD Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUD New or Popular Book
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUD Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUD New or Popular Book
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUD New or Popular Book
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUD New or Popular Book
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUD New or Popular Book
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUD Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUD Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUDAY-PERKOVICH, O. Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUDAY-PERKOVICH, O. Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
J RHUDAY-PERKOVICH, O. Book Juvenile Fiction
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A realistic contemporary story of two girls whose divorced parents begin to date--perfect for fans of Lisa Graff, Sara Pennypacker, and Rita Williams-Garcia.

Other than their first names, Naomi Marie and Naomi Edith are sure they have nothing in common, and they wouldn't mind keeping it that way.

Naomi Marie starts clubs at the library and adores being a big sister. Naomi Edith loves quiet Saturdays and hanging with her best friend in her backyard. And while Naomi Marie's father lives a few blocks away, Naomi Edith wonders how she's supposed to get through each day a whole country apart from her mother.

When Naomi Marie's mom and Naomi Edith's dad get serious about dating, each girl tries to cling to the life she knows and loves. Then their parents push them into attending a class together, where they might just have to find a way to work with each other--and maybe even join forces to find new ways to define family.


Reviews 3

School Library Journal Review

Gr 4-6-Naomi Marie is African American, hardworking, a big sister, and finally feeling adjusted to living with her mother since her parents' divorce. Naomi E. is white, quiet, an only child, and dealing with feelings of abandonment after her parents got divorced and her mom moved to California. When the two Naomis are forced to meet after their parents begin dating, they discover they may be more alike than they could have ever imagined. Told in alternating viewpoints, this novel allows readers to experience all the emotions these two 10-year-olds face as they deal with their parents' new relationships, best friends, school problems, and annoying little sisters. Children will identify with the characters, who confront realistic problems such as parents making decisions without consulting their kids. The girls' voices are authentically tweenlike. Frequent references to different cultural items (e.g., Rahul dolls) and books (including Rita Garcia Williams's One Crazy Summer) will likely prompt readers to seek additional information. The theme of family is prominent throughout, and this is an excellent pick for students who may be dealing with similar issues. This selection manages to present a sweet coming-of-age story without being preachy or overly dramatic. VERDICT Highly recommended for all middle grade collections looking for relatable realistic fiction.-Ashley Leffel, Griffin Middle School, Frisco, TX © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

Two 10-year-old girls with the same first name are forced to get to know each other when their divorced parents start dating. When the Naomis are introduced, they are less than thrilled, though Naomi Marie's younger sister, Brianna, doesn't mind as much, immediately starting to refer to Naomi E. as "White Naomi" (Naomi Marie and her family are black). Their parents, eager to help the girls connect, sign them up for a computer programming class and plan numerous family outings. Rhuday-Perkovich (8th Grade Superzero) and Vernick (Screaming at the Ump) realistically capture the challenges facing the girls, like arguing about whose favorite bakery to visit, the issue of their shared name, and their conflicted feelings regarding their other parents (Naomi Marie's father lives nearby, while Naomi E.'s mother is out in California). While it's clear that the girls will become friends-they are both too thoughtful and kind for any other outcome to feel possible-their worries about their shifting families resonate. Alternately narrated by both girls, this tale of a family blending together is warm, upbeat, and satisfying. Ages 8-12. Agent: Erin Murphy, Erin Murphy Literary. (Sept.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Booklist Review

*Starred Review* Naomi Marie's momma (Valerie) is dating Naomi Edith's dad (Tom). As things get serious, the adults encourage the daughters (including Naomi Marie's four-year-old sister, Brianna) to get to know each other. Both Naomis experience awkwardness and frustration as they are forced to interact through shared meals and surprise outings. Although they make efforts to be friendly, they feel conflicted about their loyalties to their other parents, which make them resist further family changes. When Val and Tom enroll their respective Naomis in a coding class without their knowledge, and the two girls must work on a project together, their suppressed tensions come to a head. The alternating first-person viewpoints allow readers to get inside both Naomis' heads and understand their motivations. This story of two families coming together is grounded and sweet, never cloying, with the dialogue of both major and minor characters being perfectly authentic. Both girls are self-aware and mature for being only 10, though these character traits come off as believable. Naomi Marie is black and Naomi Edith is white, and the issues around blending an interracial family aren't much explored, but that is a quibble in a book so seamlessly written. Recommended for all children who appreciate realistic contemporary stories.--Young, Michelle Copyright 2016 Booklist