Cover image for Carve the mark
Title:
Carve the mark

Carve the mark ;
Title:
Carve the mark
Personal Author:
Publisher Info:
New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2017]
Physical Description:
468 pages : illustrations, maps ; 24 cm.
Series:
Carve the mark ; [book 1]
General Note:
Pagination may vary.
Abstract:
Living on a violent planet where everyone develops a unique power meant to shape the future, Akos and Cyra, youths from enemy nations, resent gifts that render them vulnerable to others' control before they become unlikely survival partners.

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Searching...
YA F ROTH New or Popular Book YA Fiction
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth's stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.

On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not--their gifts make them vulnerable to others' control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra's currentgift gives her pain and power--something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother's hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive--no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra's world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive--or to destroy one another.


Author Notes

Veronica Roth was born on August 19, 1988 in New York. She graduated from Northwestern University's creative writing program. She is a full-time author whose books include Divergent, Insurgent, and Allegiant. Divergent was adapted into a movie in 2014. In 2015 Insurgent made The New York Time Best Seller List. She also wrote four short stories from Divergent's character, Tobias Eaton's point of view. That book, entitled Four: A Divergent Collection, made the New York Times bestseller list in 2014. She wrote Carve the Mark which made the bestseller list in February 2017. The Fates Divided, which is the sequel to Carve the Mark, was publised April 2018.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-Lifegiving "current" hums throughout the planets in what Akos knows as "the galaxy." This includes Akos's nation-planet of Thuvhe along with planets Zold, Othyr, Urek, Shotet, and more. Cyra dwells on Shotet, a bitter Thuvhesit enemy. Akos and Cyra each have currentgifts, which manifest at adolescence. His gift can provide relief, while hers causes pain for herself and others. In Roth's military-styled world, battles are settled with currentblades, and victors scar their arms with kill marks, meant both to count the dead and, in some cases, to honor them. The story is told from the perspectives of both Akos and Cyra. Readers follow a third-person view of Akos, who was brought unwillingly to Shotet and harbors deep resentments, while Cyra, always at the edge of pain and ready for battle, narrates in first person. Gradually, Cyra and Akos move from grudging tolerance of each other to respect and then love. Intrigue, poisonings, and an epic battle in the final chapters set the stage for the next book in this planned duology. Roth's dark world mixes classic elements, such as oracles and gladiator-style battles, with futuristic bullies who have a thirst for power. VERDICT The author's name may catch the eye of "Divergent" trilogy fans, but they will find that this book has less romance and more violence. Consider where Marie Lu's "Young Elites" series, Eoin Colfer's "W.A.R.P." books, and Allen Zadoff's "Unknown Assassin" titles are popular.-Maggie Knapp, Trinity Valley School, Fort Worth, TX © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

Roth (the Divergent series) returns with a gripping space opera about two individuals who share a planet but come from very different worlds. Cyra belongs to the ruling family of the Shotet, a people wrestling for planetary power against the gentle, prophetic Thuvhesit. Like all people, Cyra has a "currentgift" bestowed by the galactic current that connects all living things, but hers is darker than most: she lives in debilitating pain, eased only when she unleashes it on another-a fearsome spectacle that her cruel, power-hungry brother often forces her to employ. Akos, raised among the Thuvhesit and kidnapped by the Shotet, has a similarly singular currentgift: his touch relieves Cyra of her pain. Forced together, the two become hesitant friends and unlikely allies as the simmering tension between their two nations reaches new heights. Roth's worldbuilding is commendable; each nation is distinct, interacting with the current in ways that give insight into her characters' motivations. Amid political machinations and forays into space, Roth thoughtfully addresses substantial issues, such as the power of self-determination in the face of fate. Readers will eagerly await a second installment. Ages 14-up. Agent: Joanna Volpe, New Leaf Literary & Media. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Booklist Review

In a system of nation-planets, a colorful ribbon of energy, called the Current, weaves around each planetary body, imbuing its residents with a special ability. For Cyra, sister of Ryzek, the sovereign of the warlike Shotet people, that gift leaves her constantly wracked with pain, which she can inflict on others with just a touch. Akos, from Thuvhe, the sworn enemies of the Shotet, however, can negate the effects of the Current with his gift. When tyrannical Ryzek kidnaps Akos and his brother, he orders Akos to serve Cyra, using his gift to alleviate her pain. But Cyra is horrified by Ryzek's violent thirst for control, and Akos is desperate to save his brother despite their allegiances, they find more solidarity than enmity. Roth offers a richly imagined, often-brutal world of political intrigue and adventure, with a slow-burning romance at its core. Though the pace sometimes drags, the fascinating, fantasy-sf-hybrid world building is deftly deployed and adds considerable depth. Inevitably, it ends on a tantalizing cliff-hanger, but Roth's fans will be happily on board for the forthcoming sequel. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: This is Roth's first endeavor since the insanely popular Divergent series. Need we say more?--Hunter, Sarah Copyright 2016 Booklist