Cover image for The width of the world : Vega Jane book three
The width of the world : Vega Jane book three

Vega Jane book three

Vega Jane ;
The width of the world : Vega Jane book three
Personal Author:
First Edition.
Publisher Info:
New York, NY : Scholastic, Inc., 2017.
Physical Description:
421 pages ; 22 cm.
Vega Jane ; book three

Vega Jane ; bk. 3.
Having discovered the truth about the town of Wormwood before surviving the dangerous wilderness of the Quag, heroine Vega Jane, who has endured more than anyone before her, is confronted by devastating forces unlike any she has ever encountered.


Call Number
Material Type
YA BALD New or Popular Adult Fiction Book

On Order



This is it. Vega Jane's time. She's been lied to her whole life, so she breaks away from Wormwood, the only home she's ever known, in search of the truth. She battles horrors to fight her way across the Quag with her best friend, Delph, and her mysterious canine, Harry Two. Against all odds, they survive unimaginable dangers and make it through.

And into a new world that's even worse. Not because deadly beasts roam the cobblestones, but because the people are enslaved but don't even know it. It's up to Vega, Delph, Harry Two and their new comrade, Petra, to take up the fight against a foe that's unrivaled in savagery and cunning. Not only is Vega's life and the lives of her friends on the line, but whether she triumphs or fails will determine whether a whole world survives.

Beloved author David Baldacci delivers a shockwave of destruction and shattering revelations in The Width of the World , book three in his instant #1 global bestselling Vega Jane series.

Author Notes

David Baldacci was born in Richmond, Virginia on August 5, 1960. He received a Bachelor of Arts degree in political science from Virginia Commonwealth University and a Juris Doctor from the University of Virginia. He practiced law in Washington D.C. as a trial and corporate lawyer.

His first novel, Absolute Power, was published in 1996. It won Britain's prestigious W.H. Smith's Thumping Good Read award for fiction in 1997 and was adapted as a movie starring Clint Eastwood. His other works include Total Control, The Winner, The Simple Truth, Saving Faith, True Blue, One Summer and End Game. He writes numerous series including King and Maxwell, Freddy and the French Fries, the Camel Club, Will Robie, Shaw and Katie James, John Puller, Vega Jane, and Amos Decker. He also published a novella entitled Office Hours and has authored five original screenplays.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 1

Booklist Review

The third book in the Vega Jane series has Vega Jane, her friends Delph and Petra, and her loyal dog, Harry Two, on the move once more, this time into a more modern and seemingly friendly world. But it's not long before it becomes clear that the city of True and the surrounding environs are full of pitfalls, not the least of which are the evil Maladons and their sophisticated yet brutal leader, Endemen. But there is also comfort, too, as Vega Jane stumbles into her magical ancestral home, and her relationship with Delph becomes more romantic (though not without pushback from her frenemy Petra). As in the previous books, there is plenty of nonstop action here, though sometimes readers might wish it would at least slow down. Those who expected this to be the last book in a trilogy (and that's the way it seems to be going throughout) will be caught off guard by some of the final action. This has a very Harry Potter-like feel, so give it to those fans.--Cooper, Ilene Copyright 2017 Booklist