Cover image for The silent wife
Title:
The silent wife
Title:
The silent wife
Publisher Info:
Ickenham, United Kingdom : Bookouture an imprint of StoryFire Ltd., [2017]
Physical Description:
350 pages ; 20 cm
General Note:
"A gripping emotional page turner with a twist that will take your breath away"--cover.
Abstract:
"Lara's life looks perfect on the surface. Gorgeous doting husband Massimo, sweet little son Sandro and the perfect home. Lara knows something about Massimo. Something she can't tell anyone else or everything Massimo has worked so hard for will be destroyed: his job, their reputation, their son. This secret is keeping Lara a prisoner in her marriage. Maggie is married to Massimo's brother Nico and lives with him and her troubled stepdaughter. She knows all of Nico's darkest secrets - or so she thinks..."-- Page 4 of cover.

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Searching...
FIC FISH New or Popular Adult Fiction Book
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Would you risk everything for the man you loved? Even if you knew he'd done something terrible?

A heart wrenching and gripping tale. I was hooked from the very first page.' Write Escape

Lara's life looks perfect on the surface. Gorgeous doting husband Massimo, sweet little son Sandro and the perfect home. Lara knows something about Massimo. Something she can't tell anyone else or everything Massimo has worked so hard for will be destroyed: his job, their reputation, their son. This secret is keeping Lara a prisoner in her marriage.

Maggie is married to Massimo's brother Nico and lives with him and her troubled stepdaughter. She knows all of Nico's darkest secrets - or so she thinks. The one day she discovers a letter in the attic which reveals a shocking secret about Nico's first wife Caitlin. Will Maggie set the record straight or keep silent to protect those she loves?

For a family held together by lies, the truth will come at a devastating price.

A heart-wrenching, emotionally gripping read for fans of Amanda Prowse, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.


Reviews 3

Publisher's Weekly Review

Fisher's resonant novel (following The Lost Child) about one woman's blended family is full of emotional drama and dark secrets. When Maggie Parker marries Nico Farinelli, her life in Brighton, England, is forever changed. She and her 10-year-old son, Sam, have left behind Maggie's mother, Beryl, with whom they used to share a flat. After her marriage to Nico, Maggie and Sam move into the house Nico shares with his 13-year-old daughter, Francesca. Maggie, despite her love for Nico, finds an uphill battle with the rest of his family. She tries to cope with Francesca's surly attitude towards her as well as Nico's mother Anna's disapproval of her (not to mention Anna's constant adulation of Nico's deceased first wife, Caitlin). The cold indifference of Maggie's sister-in-law, Lara, makes Maggie's transition into the Farinelli clan even more difficult. When Maggie discovers a secret about Caitlin, she must decide whether to keep quiet, knowing it would hurt Nico if it were revealed. As Maggie forms a tenuous friendship with Lara, who begins to warm to her, she wonders why Lara won't stand up to her husband, Massimo, who exhibits cruelty toward their seven-year-old son. The novel is told from both Maggie's and Lara's perspectives, and the switches keep the pace lively and fast. The story is further bolstered by a dark sense of humor, making for a compulsively readable novel about family skeletons. (Nov.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Booklist Review

Fisher (After the Lie, 2016) returns with a multilayered novel about marriage, family, and friendship. Newlywed Maggie Farinelli has just moved in with her husband. While Nico dotes on her after the death of his first wife, Caitlin, stepdaughter Francesca resents Maggie, and Farinelli matriarch Anna looks down on her. As Maggie learns to navigate her new life, she discovers a secret about Caitlin that threatens to pull the family apart. Maggie's sister-in-law, Lara, has secrets of her own. Lara is married to Nico's brother, Massimo, who isn't the perfect man he seems on the surface. Lara is desperate for a friend, and she finds one in Maggie. Told in alternating first person by Maggie and Lara, the story tears down the carefully built family façade, exposing the humanity underneath. Fisher's humorous voice casts a light on the darker issues explored in the novel. For fans of Liane Moriarty and Emily Giffin, with a hint of B.A. Paris thrown in.--Cari Dubiel Copyright 2018 Booklist


Library Journal Review

Maggie is the newest member of the Farinelli family, marrying Nico after the death of his first wife, Caitlin. She often feels unable to compete with the woman she replaced and hopes to find an ally in her new sister-in-law Lara, but Lara is stiff and distant to all offers of friendship. Even so, when Maggie discovers a scandalous secret from Caitlin's past, she goes to Lara for advice. Lara harbors devastating secrets about her husband and their family that if revealed would destroy the family dynamics. Both Lara and Maggie must decide if they should keep silent or speak up and change their own lives and the lives of those they love forever. Fisher (After the Lie) takes on modern families and the hardships that often come with marriage in this emotionally insightful and gripping novel. Having both women narrate captures the essence of how easy it is to cover up and overlook real problems, even with those whom we are close. The British dialect can be a little difficult to understand at times, but overall the drama will keep readers drawn in and wanting more. VERDICT Recommended for fans of Liane Moriarty or Jennifer Weiner.-Kristen Calvert, Dallas P.L., TX © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.