Cover image for Wordy Birdy
Title:
Wordy Birdy
Title:
Wordy Birdy
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publisher Info:
New York : Doubleday Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Random House Children's Books, a division of Penguin Random House LLC, [2018]
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 27 cm
Abstract:
"Wordy Birdy loves to talk, but will she ever learn to listen?"-- Provided by publisher.
Added Author:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Searching...
E SAUER New or Popular Picture Book
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Meet Wordy Birdy, a very chatty bird who talks WAY more than she listens! A hilarious story with a subtle lesson from beloved author Tammi Sauer-ideal for fans of I Don't Want to Be a Frog .

Wordy Birdy LOVES to talk. oHello, sunrise. Hello, pink sky. Hello, orange sky. . . .o But does she love to listen? NOPE . One day, while she's walking through the forest, her gift of the gab gets her into hot water- oThat's a pretty tree and that's a pretty tree and that's a pretty danger sign and that's a pretty tree. . . .o Will this inattentive bird walk right into danger? Will her faraway thoughts lead her along a path of doom? It's up to her long-suffering, heard-it-all-before pals Squirrel, Raccoon, and Rabbit to save their distracted friend.

Author Tammi Sauer will have kids and their parents in stitches with this funny, fast-paced, lovable caper about the importance of paying attention-and the importance of standing by your friends through thick and thin.


Author Notes

TAMMI SAUER is a full-time children's book author who presents at schools and conferences across the nation. She is the author of twenty-eight picture books, including Wordy Birdy ,a Cowboy Camp , Chicken Dance , Nugget & Fang , and Princess in Training . In addition to winning awards, Tammi's books have gone on to do great things- Chicken Dance- The Musical is on a national tour, and Your Alien , an NPR Best Book, has been published in French, Italian, Korean, and Spanish. Tammi and her family live in Edmond, Oklahoma. Visit her online at tammisauer.com.

DAVE MOTTRAM is a designer and illustrator working in Ohio. He has illustrated Wordy Birdy ,a Race Car Dreams , which Kirkus called oclever, bouncy funo, and Oy Vey! Life in a Shoe . He also works with the Khan Academy on educational apps for young children. To learn more about Dave's work, visit him at davemottram.com.


Reviews 3

School Library Journal Review

K-Gr 1-Self-centered Wordy Birdy talks a lot, about everything ("This one time, I totally went swimming with a narwhal. My third cousin Barb is a penguin. REALLY! Do you think there is an award for Bird of the Year?..."). She doesn't listen to anyone, even when she should. On a walk through the deep woods she babbles along, ignoring every sign of danger (there are literal signs saying "danger"), the repeated warnings of her friends, and their sage advice such as "Run for your life!" When she finally comes face to face with a hungry bear, her friends come to the rescue and Wordy Birdy finally listens. Oh, she still talks a lot, but now "Sometimes, she likes to listen, too." Sauer's fun-to-read text and Mottram's detailed and hilarious illustrations seamlessly meld into a cohesive whole. The extensive use of word balloons, repeated questions ("Does Wordy Birdy listen?"), and characters who directly address readers make for an interactive read suitable for storytime and individual sharing. VERDICT A tale of a flawed character with indomitable friends who finally learns to listen (sometimes). Purchase this amusing and entertaining read-aloud as needed.-Catherine Callegari, Gay-Kimball Library, Troy, NH © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

Wordy Birdy is the definition of a flibbertigibbet, and she's not a little narcissistic ("Do you think there's an award for Bird of the Year?"). Above all, she's a terrible listener. But Wordy Birdy's patient friends-Squirrel, Rabbit, and Raccoon-still care about her, and when she ignores their warnings and stumbles into the path of a hungry bear, they intervene and guide her to safety. It's a slight story, and Wordy Birdy's escape from the bear doesn't register-readers may think they skipped a page. But Sauer (Truck, Truck, Goose!) and Mottram (Race Car Dreams) work hard to ingratiate themselves. The characters' comic expressions have a genial, sitcom familiarity, Wordy Birdy's prattling is suitably inane ("My third cousin Barb is a penguin. Really!"), and there's some droll breaking of the fourth wall. When the narrator tries to underplay Wordy Birdy's inattentiveness, Rabbit looks at the audience and remarks "Oh, puh-lease," while Raccoon dryly asks, "Are we talking about the same bird here?" Ages 3-7. Author's agent: Laura Rennert, Andrea Brown Literary. Illustrator's agency: Bright Group. (Feb.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Booklist Review

Wordy Birdy is one very talkative bird. From waking up (Hello, sunrise. Hello, pink sky. Hello, orange sky . . . Oh! Hello, gorgeous, spying herself in mirror) and onward, enthused, if self-absorbed, Wordy Birdy has something to say about everything from her likes (spaghetti; unicorns) to her dislikes (turtlenecks; tuna salad) to general ruminations (Why do zebras have stripes?). Problem is, Wordy Birdy doesn't listen not even to her friends Squirrel, Rabbit, and Raccoon, who try to warn her as she blithely walks toward danger. Thankfully, her more-than-patient pals persist, and at the crucial moment, Wordy Birdy pays heed, the friends come to her rescue, and, ultimately, Wordy Birdy gains some appreciation for listening, too. The lively narrative, enhanced by abundant, often wry, speech bubbles, incorporates amusing commentary, witty asides, and reader-directed address, all of which comically conveys Wordy Birdy's verbosity, her friends' frustrations, and, ultimately, their friendship and caring. Energetic, busy layouts and page-filling, colorful cartoonish illustrations lend further pep. Employing hyperbolic elements and humor, this offers an entertaining approach to the topic of listening.--Rosenfeld, Shelle Copyright 2018 Booklist