Cover image for Heart of iron
Title:
Heart of iron
Title:
Heart of iron
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publisher Info:
New York : Balzar + Bray, an imprint of Harpercollins Publishers, [2018]
Physical Description:
467 pages ; 22 cm.
Abstract:
Seventeen-year-old Ana is a scoundrel by nurture and an outlaw by nature. Found as a child drifting through space with a sentient android called D09, Ana was saved by a fearsome space captain and the grizzled crew she now calls family. But D09 one of the last remaining illegal Metals has been glitching, and Ana will stop at nothing to find a way to fix him.

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Searching...
YA F POST New or Popular Book YA Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
YA POST New or Popular Book YA Fiction
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

An action-packed tale full of romance, royalty, and adventure, inspired by the story of Anastasia. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows, Cinder, and the cult classic television show Firefly.

Seventeen-year-old Ana is a scoundrel by nurture and an outlaw by nature. Found as a child drifting through space with a sentient android called D09, Ana was saved by a fearsome space captain and the grizzled crew she now calls family. But D09--one of the last remaining illegal Metals--has been glitching, and Ana will stop at nothing to find a way to fix him.

Ana's desperate effort to save D09 leads her on a quest to steal the coordinates to a lost ship that could offer all the answers. But at the last moment, a spoiled Ironblood boy beats Ana to her prize. He has his own reasons for taking the coordinates, and he doesn't care what he'll sacrifice to keep them.

When everything goes wrong, she and the Ironblood end up as fugitives on the run. Now their entire kingdom is after them--and the coordinates--and not everyone wants them captured alive.

What they find in a lost corner of the universe will change all their lives--and unearth dangerous secrets. But when a darkness from Ana's past returns, she must face an impossible choice: does she protect a kingdom that wants her dead or save the Metal boy she loves?


Reviews 2

School Library Journal Review

Gr 7 Up-In an unusual blend of sci-fi and fantasy, this series opener (inspired by the story of Anastasia) rotates narration among an unusually large cast of characters. The central character, Ana, is accompanied by her "metal" sidekick D09, who is rapidly failing due to malware. Meanwhile, the heir to the Iron Crown must be located-one who can touch the crown without it rusting is a true heir to the emperor. There is a presumed heir, Erik, unlikable in that entitled-gentry-kid sort of way, but nobody has ever seen him touch the crown. Readers will stake their money on the younger brother, Robb, and will initially ship Robb with Ana-until it is revealed that Robb really only has eyes for Jaxx, the maverick "star kisser," who has the inherited ability to see the future. As the plot twists on, a past plague is revealed along with a sinister plan to conscript an army. With the inclusion of androids, the definition of humanity is a resounding theme. The book runs long, but the short chapters will draw readers in and the rich backstory gives them plenty to chew on. VERDICT A great choice for fans of Victoria Aveyard's "Red Queen" trilogy and for young readers looking for a hint of Game of Thrones that won't burn their eyeballs with overt sexuality.-Leah Krippner, Harlem High School, Machesney Park, IL © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Booklist Review

Deep in the stars, Ana was found by the starship Dossier as a child, alone except for sentient android D09, and she was raised by the ship's captain and her crew of space pirates. As a teenager, Ana searches for a way to save D09, who has begun to break down a challenge, as Di is one of the only remaining Metals who isn't part of the HIVE, the system that strips androids of their free will. Ana refuses to lose the android boy she can't help but love, despite his own inability to feel emotions. On a quest to save Di, Ana encounters Robb, an elite Ironborn whose despotic brother is about to ascend the throne, which has stood empty since the princess who should have inherited it disappeared after a Metal rebellion. The legends surrounding Anastasia Romanov get an sf makeover in this occasionally overcrowded but always exciting Firefly-style space opera. A wide cast of supporting characters and several same-sex romances add depth, and a violent, volatile ending leaves room for more.--Reagan, Maggie Copyright 2017 Booklist