Cover image for A thousand beginnings and endings : 15 retellings of Asian myths and legends
Title:
A thousand beginnings and endings : 15 retellings of Asian myths and legends

Forbidden fruit.

Olivia's table.

Steel skin.

Still star-crossed.

Counting of Vermillion beads.

Land of the morning calm.

Smile.

Girls who twirl and other dangers.

Nothing into all.

Spear carrier.
Title:
A thousand beginnings and endings : 15 retellings of Asian myths and legends
Publisher Info:
New York, NY : Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]
Physical Description:
328 pages ; 22 cm
Contents:
Forbidden fruit (Filipino) / by Roshani Chokshi -- Olivia's table (Chinese) / by Alyssa Wong -- Steel skin (Hmong) / by Lori M. Lee -- Still star-crossed (Punjabi) / by Sona Charaipotra -- Counting the vermillion beads (Vietnamese) / by Aliette De Bodard-- The Land of the Morning Calm (Korean) / by E. C. Myers -- The smile (South Asian) / by Aisha Saeed -- Girls who twirl and other dangers (Gujarati) / by Preeti Chhibber -- Nothing into all (Korean) / by Renee Ahdieh -- Spear carrier (South Asian) / by Rahul Kanakia -- Code of honor (Filipino) / by Melissa De La Cruz -- Bullet, butterfly (Chinese) / by Elsie Chapman -- Daughter of the Sun (South Asian) / by Shveta Thakrar -- The Crimson cloak (Chinese) / by Cindy Pon -- Eyes like candlelight (Japanese) /by Julie Kagawa.
Abstract:
Fifteen authors of Asian descent reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia, in short stories ranging from fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge.

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Searching...
YA OH New or Popular Book YA Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
YA OH E New or Popular Book YA Fiction
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings: these are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.

Compiled by We Need Diverse Books's Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renée Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother's mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.

From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman's Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie's New York Times-bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.


Reviews 3

School Library Journal Review

Gr 8 Up-Fifteen well-known young adult authors retell myths and legends from a variety of Asian countries and regions. Ghosts, androids, demons, and avatars make an appearance in this anthology. Each story is followed by a short essay in which the authors discuss the origins of their retold myths. This collection fills a gap in modern retellings of fairy tales and myths by presenting non-European myths. With stories that cover the science fiction, fantasy, contemporary, and paranormal genres, there is something for everyone. Alyssa Wong takes the Chinese hungry ghost festival and places it in the American Southwest. Lori M. Lee's retelling of the Hmong folktale "The Woman and the Tiger" involves an android who experiences emotions. Preeti Chhibber's tale of the Hindu festival Navrati takes place in a gym in New Jersey and demonstrates how revenge can be bittersweet. In "Code of Honor," a Filipino aswang-similar to a vampire-attends high school. Give to fans of Marissa Meyer's "Lunar Chronicles" or Rick Riordan's Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard. VERDICT An excellent first purchase for all libraries.-Jenni Frencham, formerly at Columbus Public Library, WI © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

Fifteen Asian authors-including Renee Ahdieh, Melissa de la Cruz, Aisha Saeed, and Rahul Kanakia-share genre-spanning short retellings of myths and legends traditional to their own cultures in this outstanding anthology edited by Chapman and We Need Diverse Books president Oh. Roshani Chokshi's lush, elegant "Forbidden Fruit" sets the tone for the anthology, remixing the Filipino folktale of Maria Makiling, a mountain spirit spurned by her mortal love. In Alyssa Wong's "Olivia's Table," a take on the traditional Chinese Hungry Ghost Festival, the protagonist inherits an important role in helping the dead pass on to the next plane of existence. Preeti Chhibber chooses a contemporary setting to showcase the Hindu festival Navratri in "Girls Who Twirl and Other Dangers," in which a group of young girls resolves to teach an overconfident boy a much-deserved lesson. Each story is followed by a missive from its author, sharing inspiration and background on creative choices and changes. Thoughtfully compiled and written, this compendium is a must-read. Ages 13-up. (June) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Booklist Review

Authors Oh (CEO of We Need Diverse Books) and Chapman (Dualed, 2013) have created this much-needed anthology of Asian myths and folktales, retold by diasporic Asian writers. Each of the 15 stories is followed by an author statement that deepens the meaning of these stories of Filipino, Chinese, Hmong, Punjabi, Vietnamese, Korean, South Asian, Gujurati, and Japanese origin. It's a wonderful concept, and the styles and subjects are as diverse as the countries and cultures represented, ranging from traditional period settings to imaginative science fiction. One standout is Alyssa Wong's poignant take on the Chinese legend of the Hungry Ghost, which features a mixed-race lesbian protagonist mourning her dead mother. As the editors note in their introduction, We would have been overjoyed to have found this anthology, filled with characters with skin and hair and names more like ours, in our beloved libraries. Although there will certainly be a special thrill of recognition for readers of Asian descent, these stories are for everyone.--Carton, Debbie Copyright 2018 Booklist


Table of Contents

Roshani Chokshi, FilipinoAlyssa Wong, ChineseLori M. Lee, HmongSona Charaipotra, PunjabiAliette De Bodard, VietnameseE. C. Myers, KoreanAisha Saeed, South AsianPreeti Chhibber, GujaratiRenée Ahdieh, KoreanRahul Kanakia, South AsianMelissa de la Cruz, FilipinoElsie Chapman, ChineseShveta Thakrar, South AsianCindy Pon, ChineseJulie Kagawa, Japanese
From the Editorsp. 1
Forbidden Fruitp. 5
Olivia's Tablep. 20
Steel Skinp. 47
Still Star-Crossedp. 73
The Counting of Vermillion Beadsp. 90
The Land of the Morning Calmp. 109
The Smilep. 139
Girls Who Twirl and Other Dangersp. 155
Nothing into Allp. 184
Spear Carrierp. 202
Code of Honorp. 224
Bullet Butterflyp. 238
Daughter of the Sunp. 259
The Crimson Cloakp. 282
Eyes like Candlelightp. 302
Author Biographiesp. 324