Cover image for In peppermint peril : a book tea shop mystery
Title:
In peppermint peril : a book tea shop mystery

A Book Tea Shop Mystery
Title:
In peppermint peril : a book tea shop mystery
Personal Author:
Publisher Info:
New York, NY : Crooked Lane Books, an imprint of The Quick Brown Fox & Company, LLC, 2018.
Physical Description:
283 pages ; 21 cm.
Series:
A Book Tea Shop Mystery
Abstract:
In the run-up to Christmas Eve, organizer of book-themed tea parties Callie Aspen and her lovable Boston terrier will have to conquer threefold trouble--a mysterious will, a missing heirloom and a dead body--to restore the festive spirit to their small town.
Geographic Term:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Status
Searching...
FIC AVON New or Popular Adult Fiction Book
Searching...
Searching...
FIC AVON New or Popular Adult Fiction Book
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Joy Avon's festive series debut featuring a book-themed tea party organizer will be tons of fun this Christmas for Lorna Barrett and Jenn McKinlay fans.

In the run-up to Christmas Eve, organizer of book-themed tea parties Callie Aspen and her lovable Boston terrier will have to conquer threefold trouble--a mysterious will, a missing heirloom and a dead body--to restore the festive spirit to their small town.

This Christmas, Callie Aspen returns to her childhood hideout Heart's Harbor, Maine where her great aunt runs Book Tea, a vintage tearoom where every sweet treat contains a bookish clue. Upon arrival in the fairy-tale snowy town, Callie is drawn into the preparations for a special tea party at Haywood Hall, the rambling house of Heart's Harbor's oldest resident, rich but lonely widow Dorothea Finster, who invited her estranged relatives, old friends and the elite of the town to make a mysterious announcement about her will.

Believing they can touch a part of her fortune, everybody is determined to come, despite not liking each other or even their hostess. And Callie's old friend Sheila complicates things by using the tea party to announce her daughter's engagement, even though her daughter isn't sure she's in love with the young lawyer her mother thinks so perfect for her.

Catering to people who each have their own agenda isn't easy for the Book Tea crew, especially once the valuable engagement ring goes missing and a dead body turns up in the conservatory. Can Callie and her great aunt use their love of clues to dig into the crimes and show their unhappy hostess and squabbling guests the true Christmas spirit?


Author Notes

A lover of books, tea and sweet treats, Joy Avon decided to combine these in a mystery series about an organizer of the book-themed tea parties Joy herself would love to attend. When not writing or reading, Joy can be found buying bonbons, fluffy socks or notebooks with pretty patterns to write down her next idea. This is her first Tea and a Read mystery.


Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

Callie Aspen, the heroine of Avon's so-so debut and series launch, decides to return to her home town of Heart's Harbor, Maine, to spend the Christmas holidays with her great-aunt Iphy, an accomplished baker, who owns the Book Tea Shop. Callie is asked to deliver a fancy cake to Haywood Hall for an exclusive party at which Dorothea Finster plans on revealing the contents of her will. Before that can happen, the old gardener, Leadenby, is found murdered in the conservatory. Handsome Deputy Falk arrives and is soon arresting various suspects only to release them for lack of evidence. Avon ticks all the cozy boxes-fairy tale small town, mystery-loving aunt, a tea shop with extravagant chocolate cakes, potential boyfriend cop (who wants the heroine to leave the detecting to the professionals), a cast of eccentric suspects-but the parts don't add up to a satisfying whole. The characters remain superficial, changing mood and direction with alarming ease, and the resolution seems forced. A sprightly style suggests Avon is capable of doing better next time. Agent: Jill Marsal, Marsal Lyon Literary. (Nov.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Booklist Review

Elderly Dorothea Finster has planned the event of the holiday season at her mansion, Haywood Hall, in Heart's Harbor, Maine. The elite of the town will be there, along with Dorothea's only relative, Stephen DuBouvais, and his social-climbing wife, Sheila. Dorothea plans to read her will, and many of the townspeople are hoping for bequests for their pet projects. But Sheila plans to turn the event into her daughter's engagement party. Caught in the middle are Callie Aspen and her great-aunt Iphy, who runs the town's Book Tea shop. When Callie delivers the cake, Sheila helps her hide an heirloom ring in one of the layers. Before the event is over, the ring is missing, and Haywood Hall's crusty gardener is dead. Callie and Iphy, both lovers of mysteries, speculate on possibilities. Much to the annoyance of Deputy Sheriff Falk, Callie begins investigating, breaking the holiday cheer by revealing old enmities. This first title in a new series, Book Tea Shop Mysteries, will appeal to fans of Molly MacRae and Jenn McKinlay.--Karen Muller Copyright 2018 Booklist